Blog Tour – The Sand Prince by Kim Alexander – Review and Excerpt

0956870345642“When the storm came, it was made of magic, not rain, and when it had passed, the life and the city Hellne knew were changed forever.” In Kim Alexander’s debut novel she weaves a witty, epic fantasy brimming with diverse characters and plenty of intrigue.

Two worlds

On the war-ravaged demon world of Eriis, Hellne, the fierce young queen, fights to keep her people alive, and to keep her son’s parentage a secret.

On the green and gentle human world of Mistra, the demons have faded into myth. Only a handful of old men and children still guard The Door between the worlds.

Bound by magic

Rhuun, the Prince of Eriis, uncovers a sultry book written by a human, sparking an obsession with the other world. When he is forced to flee Eriis, he must travel through The Door or pay the price in blood.

Divided by a door

The humans of Mistra are not what Rhuun was expecting—and one insufferable young woman in particular is about to find out that the demons of Eriis are not mythological after all . . .

Get The Book
AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooks
Add to Goodreads

My Rating… 4.5/5 Stars
The Sand Prince

First of all, a big thank you to NetGalley and Booktrope for allowing me to read this fantastic book before its release. And the good news for all of you is that this book was published this week, so you can grab your copy next time you place a book order, as I would have loved to have read this in paperback and to have held that stunning cover in my hands. I suspect I’ll end up buying a copy before book two comes out so I can reread book one and start building up this series on my bookcase.

I loved this book! The world building was so much fun throughout the book, and the characters are some of my new favorites. The Sand Prince made me laugh out loud more than once, even though it isn’t a humor title by any stretch. I’d happily call this a great fantasy story with a pinch of the funnies.

While the plotting and world building were the strong points of the book, no one can deny that Kim Alexander can write particularily strong prose and dialogue. The writing is what kept me turning pages and helped me finish this book in only a few days despite it not exactly being light reading. There’s a lot of story here, and it can take a while to digest in a few places, but the pacing generally keeps things moving forward at a great clip.

The only thing I can really even begin to critique is that I wouldn’t have minded a small uptick in pacing, getting Rhuun to Mistra a little faster. Thankfully, this book is only the first in the series, and now that we’ve covered a lot of the world building and story basics, I expect book two will jump right into the meat of its story without the same delays. And even with all of this, I still enjoyed the story before Rhuun’s adventure really begin, I just got to the point where I was eager to see the plot move forward.

Again, a big thank you to the publisher both for granting me access to The Sand Prince and for publishing it in the first place. This isn’t the type of mainstream fantasy you’re seeing come out of houses like Harper or Penguin, maybe more in line with Tor. Hopefully this means we’ll start seeing more great fantasy hitting the shelves in the near future. For now, I’ll happily recommend The Sand Prince series!


About the Author
Kim1Kim Alexander grew up in the wilds of Long Island, NY and slowly drifted south until she reached Key West. After spending ten undocumented years in the Keys, she moved to Washington DC, where she lives with two cats, an angry fish, and her extremely patient husband.
THE SAND PRINCE is Kim’s debut novel and begins the fantasy series THE DEMON DOOR.

Find her Online

Leave a Reply

